May 272015
 

The Playhouse by Katey Hawthorne
Series: Superpowered Love (# 7)
Release Date: May 11, 2015
Publisher: Loose Id LLC
Pages: 107
Source: book provided by the publisher for review
newadultICON

 

 

Summer has been Lily McBride’s favorite time of year since she was a kid, because that’s when the Brookesville Playhouse opens its doors. Now that she’s an adult and works as their tech director, Lily wants more for her beloved Playhouse: a larger audience, a longer season, and exciting shows to draw new patrons.

This year, though, she also wants Genevieve Mason, a pretty starlet-in-the-making from the local university, recruited for the season’s tech crew. Genny throws her heart and soul into the place too, adding her own dreams of representation to the ‘must-have’ list, and using her sweet voice and surprising flare for pyrotechnics to draw the crowds in droves. They work so well together; it’s not long before their summer crush blossoms into a steamy affair.

Lily’s falling hard but always feels like Genny’s holding something back. And then there’s the dreaded Brookesville Arts Council–supposed to be a support system for all things cultural, instead dragging the Playhouse down with their old-fashioned stubbornness. There are a lot of hurdles to jump and egos to deflate before they can get what they want, both for the theater and from each other.

 

Continue reading »






May 272015
 

15 Minutes to Live by Phoef Sutton
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Brash Books
Pages: 186
Source: Book provided by NetGalley for review

 

 

Carl moved into his childhood home after his parents died. It’s a house filled with fond memories…like when he was a teenager and his girlfriend Jesse would throw pebbles at his window at night to lure him outside for frantic sex. So he thinks he’s dreaming when late one night, he hears those pebbles hitting his window again…and there she is outside, aching for his touch. It’s only as they are ravaging each other again that he realizes it’s too good to be a dream.

It’s her. She’s back as if nothing has changed. But it has. For one thing, it’s been twenty years since high school. And she died three weeks ago.

Is she an imposter? A ghost? Or is the answer even more chilling? It’s just the beginning of a dangerous, unpredictable, and bizarre odyssey for them both…where nothing is what it seems… and every minute counts.

A substantially different version of this book was previously published as “Always Six O’Clock.”

 

Continue reading »






May 262015
 

Once Pure by Cecy Robson
Series: Shattered Past (# 3)
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Pages: 258
Source: Book provided by NetGalley for review
newadultICONsportsICON

 

 

She bears the scars of the past. He blames himself for things he can’t control. Their defenses are up, but in Cecy Robson’s latest Shattered Past novel—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—true love lands a knockout punch.

Sofia Tres Santos remembers a time before her life went sour, before her innocence was ripped away, before she began punishing herself with risky behaviors and unworthy men. Now, at twenty, she just hopes she’s ready to rebuild some of what she lost. One way or another, it always comes back to her childhood friend and longtime crush, Killian O’Brien.

As strong as Killian is, Sofia has always been his one weakness. He knows Sofia has suffered and wants to ensure she’s never hurt again—not like before, and definitely not under his watch. When Sofia agrees to work at his mixed martial arts gym, Killian seizes the opportunity to help and protect the sweet girl he’s always cared for. And yet, as he trains Sofia to defend herself using his hard-hitting MMA techniques, he’s drawn to the vulnerable beauty in ways he never expected.

As Sofia grows stronger, she also grows brave enough to open herself up to love. And along the way, she challenges everything Killian believes to be true, showing him that no matter how much he dominates in the ring, the real battle is fought in the heart.

 

Continue reading »






May 252015
 

Love Beyond Boundaries Book 2 by Cara Downey
Series: Book 2
Release Date: February 15, 2015
Publisher: self published
Pages: 50
Source: Book provided by the author for review

 

 

Love truly knows no boundaries… It doesn’t know the difference between gender, race or social status. This second collection of poetry follows the journey of two people who are deeply in love with one another. Dive into the second collection of erotic poetry where love truly knows no boundaries…

 

Continue reading »






 Posted by at 4:15 am
May 252015
 

Love Beyond Boundries: A Collection of Erotic Poetry by Cara Downey
Series: Book 1
Release Date: March 28, 2014
Publisher: self published
Pages: 69
Source: Book provided by the author for review

 

 

Love knows no boundaries… It doesn’t know the difference between gender, race or social status. This collection of poetry follows the journey of two people, who through ups and downs, never gives up on their happiness or the love they feel for each other.

 

Continue reading »






 Posted by at 3:15 am
May 222015
 

What Lies Behind by J.T. Ellison
Series: Dr. Samantha Owens (# 4)
Release Date: May 26, 2015
Publisher: MIRA
Pages:  400
Source: Book provided by NetGalley for review

 

 

Waking to sirens in the night is hardly unusual for Samantha Owens. No longer a medical examiner, she doesn’t lose sleep over them, but a routine police investigation in her neighborhood has her curious. When her homicide detective friend, Darren Fletcher, invites her to look over the evidence, she jumps at the chance and immediately realizes the crime scene has been staged. What seems to be a clear case of murder/suicide—a crime of passion—is anything but. The discovery of toxic substances in hidden vials indicates that something much more sinister is at play…

As Fletch and Sam try to understand what and who they are dealing with, they are summoned to a meeting at the State Department. High-level officials are interested in what they know and seem to be keeping secrets of their own. It’s up to Sam and Fletch to uncover what lies behind the deception as the threat of bioterrorism is exposed, and her boyfriend, Xander Whitfield, may be in the line of fire.

Unsure who to trust, Sam and Fletch find themselves up against very powerful people at every stage in the investigation. No one is who they appear to be and with every minute that passes, the danger escalates. It’s Sam’s most complex case yet and the terrifying reality is beyond anything she could have imagined.

 

Continue reading »






May 212015
 

ThrowbackThursday

 

Baby Love by Catherine Anderson
Series: Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan (# 1)
Release Date: November 28, 2006
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 420
Source: book purchased by the reviewer

 

 

Desperate and determined, Maggie Stanley grabs her small baby and runs into the snowy Idaho night. In her loneliest, blackest hour, she unexpectedly finds a warmth and comfort she has never known in the tender compassion of a handsome, down-and-out stranger. In Rafe Kendrick, Maggie recognizes a soul wounded like her own—though she knows she must never trust any man ever again.

Rafe is more than he seems—an enigmatic man of secrets who could give Maggie the moon, had he not vowed to spend his life alone. But sometimes love’s flames can transform a cold world into paradise—and a man who’s lost nearly everything, a woman who’s forgotten how to dream, and the helpless child who needs them both can become that most wondrous creation: a family.

 

Continue reading »






May 202015
 

Down the Rabbit Hole by Monica Corwin
Series: Wonderland Tales
Release Date: July 31, 2014
Publisher: Breathless Press
Pages: 17
Source: book provided by publisher for review
shortstoryICON

 

 

Elsa feels safe when her favorite hot cop comes into her coffee shop, especially with a serial killer on the loose.

Elsa Waters works long hours running The Rabbit Hole, a coffee shop in the center of town. Her only dreams consist of keeping the business afloat and the sexy police officer who doesn’t even notice her on his daily coffee run.

Officer Harris March tried everything in the book to get Elsa to show some sort of interest in him. With a serial killer on the loose, a dangerous idea takes root in his mind, and he decides to risk it all for the chance to have the woman of his dreams.

 

Continue reading »






May 192015
 

Way of the Warrior by Suzanne Brockmann, Julie Ann Walker, Catherine Mann, Tina Wainscott, Anne Elizabeth, M.L. Buchman, Kate SeRine, Lea Griffith
Release Date:  May 5, 2015
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Pages: 512
Source: book provided by NetGalley for review
UniformICON

 

 

EIGHT PASSIONATE LOVE STORIES ABOUT AMAZING MILITARY HEROES BY BESTSELLING AUTHORS:
Suzanne Brockmann, Julie Ann Walker, Catherine Mann, Tina Wainscott, Anne Elizabeth, M.L. Buchman, Kate SeRine, Lea Griffith

To honor and empower those who’ve served, all author and publisher proceeds go to the Wounded Warrior Project.

The Wounded Warrior Project was founded in 2002 and provides a wide range of programs and services to veterans and service members who have survived physical or mental injury during their brave service to our nation. Get involved or register for programs and benefits for yourself and your family online at www.woundedwarriorproject.org.

 

Continue reading »






May 182015
 

Rush by Gina Gordon
Series: White Lace (# 1)
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Pages:  292
Source: book provided by NetGalley for review

 

 

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.

 

Continue reading »