Review: Once Pure by Cecy Robson

Once Pure by Cecy Robson
Series: Shattered Past (# 3)
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Pages: 258
Source: Book provided by NetGalley for review
newadultICONsportsICON

 

 

She bears the scars of the past. He blames himself for things he can’t control. Their defenses are up, but in Cecy Robson’s latest Shattered Past novel—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—true love lands a knockout punch.

Sofia Tres Santos remembers a time before her life went sour, before her innocence was ripped away, before she began punishing herself with risky behaviors and unworthy men. Now, at twenty, she just hopes she’s ready to rebuild some of what she lost. One way or another, it always comes back to her childhood friend and longtime crush, Killian O’Brien.

As strong as Killian is, Sofia has always been his one weakness. He knows Sofia has suffered and wants to ensure she’s never hurt again—not like before, and definitely not under his watch. When Sofia agrees to work at his mixed martial arts gym, Killian seizes the opportunity to help and protect the sweet girl he’s always cared for. And yet, as he trains Sofia to defend herself using his hard-hitting MMA techniques, he’s drawn to the vulnerable beauty in ways he never expected.

As Sofia grows stronger, she also grows brave enough to open herself up to love. And along the way, she challenges everything Killian believes to be true, showing him that no matter how much he dominates in the ring, the real battle is fought in the heart.

 

Review:  When introduced to Killian and Sofia in the beginning of the book it is easy to tell that they have a past together but how much of one is not clear.  The more I got into the book the more I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next.  The story is told from the point of view of Sofia and that is so important because all of the past and future revolve around her and events that have happened to her, and to hear that from the character that went through it gives so much to the story.

This was one of the best books that I have read in a long time that shows true growth in it’s characters.  There is no doubt that Sofia has gone from quite church mouse to full grown woman and she would not have been able to do that without the help of Killian.  Throughout the novel there are flashbacks into the past that help tell the story of who Sofia is today and how she got that way.  These flashbacks are integral to the story and so well written I didn’t mind them at all.

This book has everything from friendship, love, hatred and of course forgiveness.  I found this book very intriguing and could not put it down.  The pull of the characters and the story had me on the edge of my set to find out what would happen next. Once Pure is part of the Shattered Past series.  I had not read the other books in the series but had no problems with following the story in this book at all.  I would say that even though it is part of a series it could also be read as a stand alone.  I will however be going back to read the first two books in the series.  I find that I could just not get enough of the characters and the friends and family that are throughout the story.

The writing was so clean and detailed I am giving Once Pure a 5 Rose review.  I am definitely looking forward to the rest of the series.

Favorite Quote: “Sorry, Gloria.  Got him confused with the guy with the hairy feet, seeing how your kid’s got some hairy-ass feet.”

 

 

signature