Review: Ember by Rachel Van Dyken

Ember by Rachel Van Dyken
Series:  Eagle Elite (# 5)
Release Date: February 18, 2015
Publisher: self published
Pages: 341
Source: book purchased by the reviewer



I am a Killer. A Rapist. A Monster.
I know only pain and survival.
That is until the Cappo’s sister walked into my life.
And changed everything.

She’s a light who makes my darkness darker, her smile makes my heart turn to ice, and I can’t escape the fear her seductive looks instill–knowing it’s only a matter of time before I fail–again, and take her for myself.
This is the story of my redemption.
But it’s not pretty…I died, and now I’m alive, but not living, breathing but not surviving. I am Phoenix De Lange, son to a murdered mob boss, estranged brother, horrible friend, monster in the making, newest leader to one of the most powerful families in the Cosa Nostra.
And I will have my vengeance.
Or die trying.
I am Phoenix De Lange.
Death is all I know.
Until she offers me a piece of life–I can’t resist taking.


Review:  WOW, is there anything bad that can be said about Mafia hotness?  Ember is part of the Eagle Elite Series by Rachel Van Dkyen.  Although the books can be read individually I would recommend reading them in order as it fills you in on a lot of background information on all of the Mafia yumminess.

Having read the entire Eagle Elite series and falling completely in love from the begining I was eager to jump right into the newest book in the series.  In Ember we get to follow Phoenix and his coming to power now that he is the head of the Nicolasi family.  A position that he didn’t want, doesn’t want and now it is his weather he likes it or not.

We follow Phoenix and Bee who is the sister of the Cappo, Tex who rules all of the families. Ember is told from Phoenix and Bee’s point of view mostly, but Sergio does have a couple of chapters that belong to him. (I mean we have to let him have some room in this book considering he is the next one in the family to get a story.) The story has an amazing flow that just keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time.  Page after page I found myself immersed into their world.  The book is so well written and full of detail that I could see it all.  The characters come right off of the pages and you can relate to them.  Well as well as you can relate to the Mafia that is.

It was amazing to watch Phoenix grow from the withdrawn, broken sole that he was, feeling that he didn’t deserve to live, and completely living in the past, and reliving the nightmare of his father into the amazing man that we get to see at the end of the book.

If you haven’t read the Eagle Elite series I would pick them up ASAP.  The reading order is as follows:  Elite (Forever Romance), Elect (Forever Romance), Entice, Elicit, Bang Bang, and Ember.  There is also Enchant which is a prequel to the series and Enforce which is Elite from Chase & Nixon’s point of view.

Favorite Quote:  “Wow, you’re right, how could I not see it?  I mean, you practically tortured that poor lasagna I force-fed you the other night.  Dang fork almost didn’t make it.  The plate…empty.”