Review: Whispering Hills of Love by Dorothy Wiley

Whispering Hills of Love by Dorothy Wiley
Series: American Wilderness (# 3)
Release Date: January 23, 2015
Publisher: self published
Pages: 310
Source: book provided by the author for review



In this compassionately written tale of romance and survival, Kelly McGuffin—an innocent victim of violence and neglect—is haunted by shame. At age eighteen, loneliness and danger compel her to leave her remote cabin in the Virginia mountains to travel west with the Wyllie brothers to Boonesborough, Kentucky. Kelly’s feelings for her heroic rescuer, Sheriff William Wyllie, remain confused and obscured beneath her worsening veil of fear. Caught in the untamed world of the frontier—both breathtakingly beautiful and shockingly cruel—Kelly is unable to control her uncertain future.

William keeps his attraction to Kelly hidden, to give her time to heal and to become the strong woman he knows she can be. As the brave sheriff of Boonesborough, on the very edge of the wilderness, William knows how to challenge difficulties head-on. But Kelly’s heart-rending problems mount with frightening speed as harrowing forces confront her. William seeks to protect Kelly from further trauma, but he also helps her learn to find strength from within. To do that, she must confront the hardest person to be honest with—herself.

Can Kelly untie her tangled emotions and let her heart smile for the first time? Will William’s tender love, and belief in Kelly, heal her soul? Can they come together to battle the most disturbing and shocking event of all?

Journey to the stunning wilderness of Kentucky and meet a memorable cast of heroes, outlaws, Indians, and settlers. Skillfully written, richly authentic, powerfully dramatic, WHISPERING HILLS OF LOVE, is a book that will make you weep, laugh, cringe in fear, fall in love, and remember.


Review: Wiley is three for three in my book since all three books in this series, Wilderness Trail of Love, New Frontier of Love and now Whispering Hills of Love have all received a five star rating from me! This book is again set in the historical time period that I most favor – the American frontier and the formation of America during the Westward expansion. My emotions were engaged throughout with tears, heartache, disbelief, horror, fright,  happiness and laughter. This book begins right where book two in the series ends, in Kentucky in the Fall of 1797, although this is totally William and Kelly’s story.

The prologue set the stage for what is to come by retelling a life changing and horrific incident that happened to Kelly in book two.  Once again I am transported as if I am there with all of them in Boonesborough, Kentucky – the land of Daniel Boone.  We even meet up with Boone several times and it only adds more power to the storytelling.  William’s brothers, Sam and Bear, are still with William in Boonesborough and part of the storyline but other family members are remembered and mentioned throughout.  There are Indians and their raids, town’s people, thieves, outlaws, family and friends along with wonderful descriptions of the land, the homes, the town, the cavern they sought shelter in, the hardworking people and militia along with romance and love.  Kelly has more grit and determination in her than even she could believe but blows William and others away with her actions.  Whether she’s loving and kind even after her past hardships,  tracking and chasing Indians or fighting for what’s hers, her strength shines through each and every time.  Watching her and William be drawn to each other but be unsure of the others feelings was heartbreaking at times.  They were each strong in their own right but when they joined forces they were indestructible.  Once again it was good to have Sam and Bear with William during some troubling times but we do ultimately see them leave Boonesborough to join their families elsewhere in Kentucky.  Riley, the puppy that William gives Kelly, is a nice addition to the storyline and worth his weight in gold!

William. as the Sheriff of Boonesborough. shows us his strengths and it is mind boggling when he lists some of the responsibilities of his job which he takes very seriously.  He also shows us his caring side as well as the leadership skills he possesses.  Watching him in action, whether dealing with strategies or in a gunfight, and seeing how the people look up to him is very rewarding.  He’s learned from the best – his brothers – and his skills are magnificent.  There was a happily ever after and lots more happiness promised for the future even in the not totally lawful Kentucky.  There was nice closure and all I could do was sigh at the end.

I look forward to reading many more books in the series and can’t wait for Bear’s story to be told in book four!  Wiley has become one of my favorite authors over the course of these three books!

Favorite Quote: “And do not fail to listen to one another and to God.  As the natives so beautifully say, ‘Listen to the wind – it talks.  Listen to the silence – it understands.  Listen to your heart – it knows.’