Review: Courage and Comfort by Berengaria Brown

Courage and Comfort by Berengaria Brown
Series:  Gemstone Romances (# 1)
Re-release Date:  May 13, 2014
Publisher:  Evernight Publishing
Pages:  34
Source: book provided by the publisher for review



Edmund’s sister, Mavis, was tragically widowed by a hit-and-run driver when her husband was rushing to the hospital for the birth of their son. Mavis cannot cope with the loss of her husband and care for a new, fatherless baby.

Mavis’s friend, AJ, tells Edmund he and his partner, Utah, must go and retrieve the Aquamarine. The stone will bring courage and comfort to Mavis. It will hold the spirit of her dead husband, and she will be able to rear their son and have a fulfilling life.

Only lovers can find the stone. Edmund and Utah are a little skeptical but very willing to try.


Review:   Courage and Comfort is the first book in the Gemstone Romances series by Berengaria Brown.  I chose this book because after reading the summary, it looked interesting and I wanted to see how it would turn out.

Edmund and Utah are a couple helping Edmund’s sister cope with a newborn baby and the loss of her husband.  It was hard to get a good feel of the individual characters because of how short they story was and they did not spend much time alone from the other.  They were very caring to go on the journey they did to help Edmund’s sister.

The connection between Edmund and Utah is intense.  The journey is interesting.  It also seemed to help both Edmund and Utah spend time together that they have been lacking while they helped Edmund’s sister.  The sex scenes were spicy and fit well into the overall story.

This book is very well written. The overall plot was very mysterious.  The main and secondary characters were fascinating and appealing. This book has a well-defined beginning, middle and end in only 34 pages. The ending of the story was a bit predictable but given the overall length of the story, it was expected. Overall, this was a great book.  I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.


Melissa sig